cafes for dogs, dog friendly cafes, London, the dog blog

Benedict’s Coffee – Brockley

On one of the recent beautiful crisp autumnal days that we’ve been enjoying, I decided to take Grenson on a nice long walk. Obviously this walk had to coincide with a coffee / beer stop (it’s work, damn it!), so I decided that we’d head over to Brockley. It had been a long time since I’d reviewed Browns of Brockley (a post that I’ve just re-read and realised that crisp sunny days seem to automatically make me want to walk to Brockley), and so I thought we’d head over there and see what new establishment had popped up. After all, it does seem like new coffee shops/pop up restaurants/bars are constantly shooting up from the Brockley pavement like weeds in spring. A particular hot spot seems to be around the train station; it’s all the overground’s fault, that’s what they say.

Unfortunately for me, after a long walk around Ladywell fields, and at the point where I was approaching Crofton Park railway station, (so still a fair way from my ultimate destination), I was hit with what all lone dog walking adventurers fear most. I was fairly certain that pretty soon I was going to need a wee.

When it is just you and the dog, then needing a wee can be a problem. I’ve only encountered it once before whilst in an establishment, the Gladstone in Borough. Luckily for me the barmaid noticed my uncertainty about whether or not to drag Grenson into the small little facilities with me, and kindly offered to hold him for me whilst I went (yes, I mean the dog, let’s not do that joke again!). If you’re in the countryside then it’s pretty easy for us men to find a secluded tree for the job. Of course, I suppose you ladies could go in the great outdoors too, I’m an equal opportunities wee-er. Going up against a tree does have the capacity to confound Grenson though. Whenever I’ve done it I do feel like I’m kind of treading on his territory – he may see it as a challenge. I suppose looking back, cocking my leg was uncalled for and would have only led to his further confusion.

Anyway, I realised that whilst it was not an emergency, I was never going to make it all the way to Brockley station and back without needing a pit stop.

Luckily, at that very moment I strolled past a little coffee shop, Benedict’s coffee, that I had never noticed before. It was like a mirage. I could get my coffee here and then head back via Hilly Fields, cutting short the journey just enough for me to arrive home when desperation levels would be hitting their highest levels. I stepped inside the little shop before it disappeared.

img_9466

The reason I hadn’t noticed it before is probably because it hasn’t been here long. According to their Facebook page it seems that they only celebrate their 1st birthday on the 8th December. (Happy birthday in advance!).

It was definitely good luck for me that it was now open. Allpress coffee and a Marzocco machine?! A perfect combination. I knew I was in safe hands.

img_9706

Check out the little cactus in a jar!! You should know by now that I’m a sucker for little touches like that. But to be honest I loved the entire design of the shop.

img_9705

img_9708

The little red chair is probably my favourite.

As you can see it’s not just a delicious coffee shop. If you’re looking for Italian dry goods (that if nothing else, just make your kitchen shelves look nice), then this is a great place to come.

Grenson wasn’t quite as impressed as I was with the red chair. He took to standing around looking bored and quizzical about why the hooman had sat down, when clearly more bits of grass needed to be found outside and given a good urgent sniff.

img_9707

Luckily for him, my bladder was in no mood for hanging around either. So I drank up and headed for home. For any of you anxious about the outcome, don’t worry I made it in time. Phew!

So if you’re in the Brockley /Crofton Park area then check out this lovely little surprise of a shop. We’ll definitely be back soon…but next time I’ll make sure that I ‘go’ before I leave!

 

The Man and the Dog.

 

 

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Benedict’s Coffee – Brockley

Leave a Reply

